Ernest instructions

Ernest is an elastomer tray that has 3×3, 4×4 or 5×5 cavities depending on its versions and allows you to search for glaze quickly17-10-2020 11-38-32fichot-alain5691IMG_5691.JPG2020_10_13

The 5×5 has a general use, the 3×3 having larger boxes is intended for ceramists looking for effect glazes. The 4×4 offers the advantage of using smaller tiles.

One of Ernest’s strengths is to remove the use of the brush for transferring the container to the sample tile. Tiles of size 14 x 15,5 cm will be used for 5×5 and 3×3 and 11×12 cm for 4×4. These tiles should be smooth and as flat as possible.

 

17-10-2020 11-52-58fichot-alain5632IMG_5632.JPG2020_09_27

To use Ernest it will be necessary to manufacture laths covered with foam (5 to 10 mm thick) of dimensions 14 x 15,5. Foam will be glued to the board


1 mL, 3 mL and 10 mL syringes complete the required material
17-10-2020 11-38-33fichot-alain5689IMG_5689.JPG2020_10_13

Dilution


For a correct use of Ernest it is necessary to pay great attention to the dilution of Dry Materials ( MS ) in water. For the first tests, you can stick to a dilution of 1.6 g of water per 1 g of MS. Which would be way too much for normal use.

17-10-2020 11-38-32fichot-alain5692IMG_5692.JPG2020_10_13

Ernest’s boxes are ‘’ numbered ‘’

This means that the box for example 1B,2C,1D corresponds to 1 dose of B + 2 doses of C + 1 dose of D.

We will see what the dose is later.

Several possible uses of Ernest

Progression in two directions

When looking for an enamel, we start from a base and we limit ourselves to varying two components (we could vary 3 or 4 components at a time, but the result would be difficult to interpret) Stull diagrams are based on Alumina Silica variations in a given database

17-10-2020 16-22-40fichot-alain5412IMG_5412.JPG2020_07_07

Example

Either a base B of 20 g

12.6 g feldspar, 4.4 g dolomite, 2 g silica and 1 g kaolin

To this base we add 20×1,6 of water or 32 g of water. This base we divide it in 4 buckets A,B,C and D therefore (20+32) /4 = 13 g per bucket. In A we add 0,50 of kaolin, in B we add nothing, in C we add 1 of silica and in D we add 0,5 of kaolin and 1 of silica. This gives us a recipe for A B C and D

 

B

B

par godet

A

A

par godet

C

C

par godet

D

D

par godet

Felds

12,6

3,15

12,6

3,15

12,6

3,15

12,6

3,15

Diolomie

3,4

0,85

3,4

0,85

3,4

0,85

3,4

0,85

Silice

2

0,5

2

0,5

6

0,5+

1

6

0,5+

1

Kaolin

1

0,25

3

0,25

+0,50

1

0,25

3

0,25

+0,50

An other words, we add for A 10% kaolin, for C 20% silica and D 10% kaolin and 20% silica

Once our 4 buckets are prepared, we can add a drop of yellow food colouring for the A, red for the C and blue for the D. This allows us not to make any errors in the dosage that will follow.
17-10-2020 12-09-33fichot-alain1IMG_4855_1.JPG2020_02_05
Ernest is placed on his foam and the distribution is done with a syringe following the indications mentioned for each box of Ernest. For the Ernest 5×5 we will take as a dose 0,2 ml that is in each case there are 4 doses or 0,8 ml For the 4X4 we will take as a dose 0,3 ml and in each case there is 0,9 ml. For the 3×3 we will take 1.5 ml as a dose and there are two doses per box so 3 ml.


The fastest method is to start with the A for example for the 5×5 , we put 4 doses of A or 0,8 ml in box 4A , then 3 doses (0,6 ml) in the 3A1B etc etc we continue with the B by putting what is indicated on Ernest etc etc. When we have filled all our locker, Add +or- 0.5 ml ( precision does not matter) per water box to facilitate turning. Cover with a plate and shake to mix the contents. We replace this plate with our tile where we will have previously noted on the back our recipe and the additions. We shake, we return, we wait a little. We take Ernest out, we just have to put our tile in the oven. We then know that we have about the
same amount of MS per cell and therefore the same thickness of enamel.

17-10-2020 12-09-33fichot-alain1IMG_4860_1.JPG2020_02_05

 

To calculate the recipe of a given box for example 2A 1C 1D it is enough to take the recipe of A multiplied by the coefficient 2, add the recipe of C and that of D. In the example given above with an addition of 10% in vertical for kaolin and 20% in horizontal for silica , there is no need to take out the calculator to see that kaolin will be 0% added on the bottom line then 2.5% on the top line…idem for columns for kaolin…progression-1

Vidéo correspondante

https://youtu.be/IBWi_yuy8N0

Nuancier

Another way to use Ernest is to add to the dropper of materials that are used in small quantities in enamel such as dye oxides, titanium, tin…

The principle is to deposit the same amount of enamel in each box and to make additions to the droplets of these materials.

We fill dropper vials with 0.8 g of oxide for 10 ml of water ( we can add a little suspensive to avoid this lead exaggerated in the bottle) In this case there will be 0.004 g of oxide per drop in our bottle. If we use the dilution of 1,6 g of water for 1 g of MS and we put 0,8 ml per box, we will have 0,4 g of MS per box so the addition of a drop of the diluted oxide of our bottle will correspond to an addition of 1% of oxide. For oxides such as cobalt it will be necessary to dilute (5 times more for example) so that a drop will correspond to 0.2% for example. In the video I put 1 ml of enamel per box but diluted to 21 g of water for 10 g of MS which is the same for the amount of MS.

 

IMG_5301

vidéo

https://youtu.be/virLTMaHJj4

Superpositions.

.Another use that saves time compared to traditional methods is to use Ernest a little differently. For example, if we want to test the superposition of two different enamels and we have 9 enamels to test, we put each of our enamels in a Ernest 3×3 box. Then after placing our tile on Ernest we briefly return, we re-return, we then have on Ernest the 9 squares with different enamels. We “print” our 9 tiles. On each of our tiles, one of the 9 enamels is then sprayed or soaked. We have 81 tests, 72 of which are overlays. The other 9 where a first layer of enamel is covered with the same enamel serves as a reference on our tile.

vidéo

 

Thickness test

It is always interesting to test the same glaze at different thickness. In this method of use I recommend to use a dilution of 16 g of water for 10 g of MS this is valid for a first approach of a search but it turns out that some families of enamels require a more or less important thickness. In the Ernest 5×5, 0.8ml per cell gives an enamel at 10 gr per dm² if a dilution of 16 g per 10 ms is used. We can test the influence of thickness on the rendering of an enamel using a single line of this Ernest. To do this we will deposit 0,4ml, 0,6ml, 0,8ml, 1ml, 1,2ml of enamel in the 5 boxes of the same line to which we add 0,5ml of water to facilitate the retornement and we transfer on a tile. We will then have the same enamel passed respectively to 5 g, 7,5 g, 10 g, 12,5g, 15 g per dm².

Zoom

When an interesting area has been found with a first test It is advisable to repeat a test by refining. For this we change base and we decrease the additions

 

17-10-2020 12-11-23fichot-alain77.jpg2020_01_19

 

Preparation of the tiles

A quick way is to do them by pouring them onto a plasterboard. They can also be done with a cruster or roller. Their cutting will be leather consistency and in any case it is good to dry them in a pile to avoid their warping.video

To go further on the volume dosage and visualize the tables that link thickness and dilution and various calculations concerning Ernest en français Document to download

If you want to acquire an Ernest my shop on Etsy

Mode d’emploi d’Ernest

 

Ernest est un bac en élastomère qui présente 3×3, 4×4 ou 5×5 cavités selon ses versions et qui permet de faire de la recherche d’émail rapidement.17-10-2020 11-38-32fichot-alain5691IMG_5691.JPG2020_10_13

Le 5×5 a un usage général, le 3×3 ayant des cases plus grandes est destiné aux céramistes cherchant des émaux à effet. Le 4×4 offre l’avantage d’utiliser des tuiles plus petites.

Un des atouts d’Ernest est de supprimer l’usage du pinceau pour le transfert du récipient à la tuile échantillon. On utilisera des carreaux de dimensions 14 x 15,5 cm biscuité pour le 5×5 et le 3×3 et de 11×12 cm pour le 4×4. Ces tuiles devront être lisses et aussi planes que possibles.

17-10-2020 11-52-58fichot-alain5632IMG_5632.JPG2020_09_27

Pour utiliser Ernest il faudra de plus confectionner des planchettes recouvertes de mousse (5 à 10 mm d’épaisseur) de dimensions 14 x 15,5. La mousse sera collée à la planchette

Des seringues de 1millilitre, 3 ml et 10 ml complètent  le matériel nécessaire17-10-2020 11-38-33fichot-alain5689IMG_5689.JPG2020_10_13

Dilution

Pour une utilisation correcte d’Ernest il convient de faire très attention à la dilution des Matières Séches ( MS ) dans l’eau. Pour les premiers essais, vous pouvez vous en tenir à une dilution de 1,6 g d’eau pour 1g de MS. Ce qui serait beaucoup trop pour une utilisation normale.

Les cases d’Ernest sont ‘’ numérotées ‘’

17-10-2020 11-38-32fichot-alain5692IMG_5692.JPG2020_10_13

Ce qui signifie que la case par exemple 1B,2C,1D correspond à 1 dose de B + 2 doses de C +1 dose de D.

On verra plus loin à quoi correspond la dose.

 

Plusieurs utilisations possible d’Ernest

Progression suivant deux directions

Quand on cherche un émail, on part d’une base et on se limite à faire varier deux composants (on pourrait faire varier 3 ou 4 composants à la fois, mais le résultat serait difficilement interprétable) Les diagrammes de Stull ou de Montmollin sont basés sur des variations Silice Alumine dans une base donnée.17-10-2020 16-22-40fichot-alain5412IMG_5412.JPG2020_07_07

Exemple

Soit une base B de 20 g

12,6 g de feldspath, 4,4 g de dolomie, 2 g de silice et 1 de kaolin

A cette base on ajoute 20×1,6 d’eau soit 32 g d’eau. Cette base on la divise en 4 dans 4 godets A,B,C et D donc (20+32) /4 = 13 g par godet. Dans le A on ajoute 0,50 de kaolin, dans le B on ajoute rien, dans le C on ajoute 1 de silice et dans le D on ajoute 0,5 de kaolin et 1 de silice. Ce qui nous donne comme recette de A B C et D

B

B

par godet

A

A

par godet

C

C

par godet

D

D

par godet

Felds

12,6

3,15

12,6

3,15

12,6

3,15

12,6

3,15

Dolomie

3,4

0,85

3,4

0,85

3,4

0,85

3,4

0,85

Silice

2

0,5

2

0,5

6

0,5+

1

6

0,5+

1

Kaolin

1

0,25

3

0,25

+0,50

1

0,25

3

0,25

+0,50

Autrement dit on ajoute pour A 10% de kaolin, pour C 20% de silice et D 10% de kaolin et 20% de silice

Une fois nos 4 godets préparés on peut ajouter une goutte de colorant alimentaire  jaune pour le A, rouge pour le C et bleu pour le D. Ceci permet de ne pas faire d’erreur dans le dosage qui va suivre.17-10-2020 12-09-33fichot-alain1IMG_4855_1.JPG2020_02_05

On pose Ernest sur sa mousse et on va faire la répartition avec une seringue en suivant les indications mentionnées pour chaque case d’ Ernest. Pour l’Ernest 5×5 on prendra comme dose 0,2 ml c’est à dire que dans chaque case il y a 4 doses soit 0,8 ml Pour le 4X4 on prendra comme dose 0,3 ml et dans chaque case il y a 0,9 ml. Pour le 3×3 on prendra 1,5 ml comme dose et il y a deux doses par case donc 3 ml.

 

La méthode la plus rapide est de commencer par le A par exemple pour le 5×5 , on met 4 doses de A soit 0,8 ml dans la case 4A , puis 3 doses (0,6 ml) dans le 3A1B etc etc on continue par le B en mettant ce qui est indiqué sur Ernest etc etc. Quand on a remplit tout notre casier, on ajoute +ou- 0,5 ml ( la précision n’a pas d’importance) par case d’eau afin de faciliter le retournement. On recouvre avec une plaque et on secoue pour mélanger le contenu. On remplace cette plaque par notre tuile où on aura préalablement noté au dos notre recette et les ajouts. On secoue , on retourne, on attend un peu. On retire Ernest, il ne reste plus qu’à enfourner notre tuile. On sait alors que l’on a environ la même quantité de MS par case et donc la même épaisseur d’émail .

17-10-2020 12-09-33fichot-alain1IMG_4860_1.JPG2020_02_05

Pour calculer la recette d’une case donnée par exemple la 2A 1C 1D il suffit de prendre la recette du A multiplié par le coefficient 2, ajouter la recette de C et celle de D. Dans l’exemple donné au dessus avec un ajout de 10% en vertical pour le kaolin et  20% en horizontal pour la silice , il n’y a pas besoin de sortir la calculette pour voir que le kaolin sera à 0% d’ajout sur la ligne du bas puis 2.5% sur la ligne au dessus…idem pour les colonnes pour le kaolin…progression-1

 

Vidéo correspondante

https://youtu.be/IBWi_yuy8N0

Nuancier

Une autre façon d’utiliser Ernest est de faire des ajouts au compte gouttes de matériaux qu’on utilise en petites quantités dans l’émail par exemple les oxydes colorants, le titane, l’étain…

Le principe est de déposer la même quantité d’émail dans chaque case et de faire des ajouts au compte gouttes de ces matières.

On remplit des flacons compte-gouttes avec 0,8 g d’oxyde pour 10 ml d’eau ( on peut ajouter un peu de suspensif pour éviter que cela plombe exagérément dans le flacon) Dans ce cas il y aura 0,004 g d’oxyde par goutte dans notre flacon. Si on utilise la dilution de 1,6 g d’eau pour 1 g de MS et que l’on met 0,8 ml par case, on aura 0,4 g de MS par case donc l’ajout d’une goutte de l’oxyde dilué de notre flacon correspondra à un ajout de1% d’oxyde. Pour des oxydes tels que le cobalt il conviendra de diluer (5 fois plus par exemple) ce qui fait qu’une goutte correspondra à 0.2% par exemple. Dans la vidéo j’ai mis 1 ml d’émail par case mais dilué à 21 g d’eau pour 10 g de MS ce qui revient au même pour la quantité de MS.IMG_5301

une vidéo explicative

https://youtu.be/virLTMaHJj4

Superpositions.

Une autre utilisation qui permet de gagner du temps par rapport aux méthodes traditionnelles est d’utiliser Ernest un peu différemment. Si on veut par exemple tester la superposition de deux émaux différents et que l’on a 9 émaux à tester on met chacun de nos émaux dans une case d’Ernest 3×3 . Puis après avoir posé notre tuile sur Ernest on retourne brièvement, on re-retourne, on a alors sur Ernest les 9 carrés avec des émaux différents. On ‘’imprime’’ ainsi nos 9 tuiles. Sur chacune de nos tuiles on pose ensuite un des 9 émaux par pulvérisation ou au trempé. On a alors 81 tests dont 72 sont des superpositions. Les 9 autres où une première couche d’un émail est recouvert du même émail sert de référence sur notre tuile.

Vidéo correspondante

Test d’épaisseur

Il est toujours intéressant de tester un même émail à différentes épaisseur. Dans ce mode d’emploi je préconise d’utiliser une dilution de 16 gr d’eau pour 10 gr de MS ceci est valable pour une première approche d’une recherche mais il s’avère que certaines familles d’émaux demandent une épaisseur plus ou moins importantes. Dans l’Ernest 5×5, 0,8ml par case donne un émail à 10 gr au dm² si on utilise une dilution de 16 g pour 10 de MS. On peut tester l’influence de l’épaisseur sur le rendu d’un émail en utilisant une seule ligne de cet Ernest. Pour ce faire on déposera 0,4ml, 0,6ml, 0,8ml, 1ml, 1,2ml d’émail dans les 5 cases d’une même ligne au quel on ajoute 0,5ml d’eau pour faciliter le retornement et on transfert sur une tuile. On aura alors un même émail passé respectivement à 5 gr, 7,5 gr , 10 gr, 12,5gr, 15 gr au dm².

 

Le Zoom

Quand on a trouvé une zone intéressante avec un premier essai Il convient de refaire un essai en affinant. Pour cela on change de base et on diminue les ajouts

17-10-2020 12-11-23fichot-alain77.jpg2020_01_19

Préparation des tuiles

Un moyen rapide est de les réaliser par coulage sur une plaque de plâtre. On peut aussi les faire à la croûteuse ou au rouleau. Leur découpage se fera consistance cuir et dans tous les cas il est bon de les faire sécher en pile pour éviter leur gauchissement.

https://youtu.be/7AZ8RsTJjmU

 

Pour aller plus loin sur le dosage en volume et visualiser les tableaux qui lie épaisseur et dilution et divers calculs concernant Ernest Document à télécharger

Si vous avez envie d’acquérir un Ernest ma boutique sur Etsy